Congratulations to the newest award recipients for 2011

NESCent is pleased to announce the following new awards:

Postdoctoral Fellows

Kate Hertweck (University of Missouri)
Comparative biology of transposable element proliferation

Mira Han (Indiana University-Bloomington)
Gene evolution in genomic context: Integrating genomic location into gene evolution models

Tami Cruickshank (University of Indiana)
Population genetics of maternal effects and their influence on molecular evolution

Robert Lanfear (Australian National University)
Synthesising methods and data to understand the mutational processes that shape genomes

Elizabeth Sbrocco (Boston University)
Exploring environmental correlates of range limits across a marine biodiveristy hotspot

Adam Smith (University of Texas, Austin)
Evaluating effect of temporal distribution of fossil calibrations on divergence analyses

Paul Harnik (Stanford University)
Ecological controls on evolutionary rates in marine systems

Catalysis Meetings

David Liberles (University of Wyoming)
Modeling protein structural and energetic constraints on sequence evolution

Andrew Groover (US Forest Service and University of California-Davis)
Evolutionary origins and development of woody plants

Jason Wolf (University of Bath, UK)
An integrative understanding of the evolution of genomic imprinting

Erin Crandall (University of California-Santa Cruz)
The molecular ecology and evolution of the Indo-Pacific: a Collaborative Research Network

Working Groups

Doris Bachtrog (University of California, Berkeley)
The tree of sex – a comprehensive synthesis of sex determination systems in eukaryotes

Jennifer Fewell (Arizona State University)
Large-scale demographic, network and behavioral trait analyses of sociality

Arlin Stoltzfus (Center for Advanced Research in Biotechnology)
HIP: Hackathons, Interoperability, Phylogenies

Long-term Sabbatical Scholars

Christina Caruso (University of Guelph, Canada)
The evolutionary ecology of genetic conflict in plants

Dena Smith (University of Colorado, Boulder)
Evolution of the Coleoptera: A paleontological perspective

Michael Wade (Indiana University, Bloomington)
A critical synthesis of indirect genetic effects in adaptive evolution

Short-term Sabbatical Scholars

Douglas Soltis (University of Florida), Pamela Soltis (University of Florida
Reconstructing the Great Tree of Life

Rebecca Safran (University of Colorado)

An integrative evolutionary approach to examine sexual selection as a mechanism of speciation

Triangle Scholars

Tyler Curtain (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
Darwin and Nietzsche: evolutionary thought within literary theory


Molly Samuel (National Public Radio, KQED, freelance)
Shipwrecked on Dry Land: a documentary for public radio

MSI Faculty Travel Awards

Ross McCauley (Fort Lewis College)
Corey Welch (Haskell College/Univ. of Kansas)
Barbara Musolf (Clayton State University)
Stanley Rice (Southeastern Oklahoma State University)

For more information about these scholars and their research projects, please visit /science/awards.php.

[ more ]